Name after George T. Morgan, the United States Mint Assistant Engraver, the Morgan Silver Dollar was minted from 1878 to 19904 and then again in 1921.

The last United States silver dollar coin to be struck for circulation was The Peace dollar. Minted from 1921 to 1928, as well as in 1934 and 1935, the coin features the Goddess of Liberty profile on the obverse, while the reverse portrays a bald eagle with an olive branch in its clutched claws.